It’s Monday! What Are You Reading? Week 3

It’s Monday! What are you reading? is a meme hosted by Sheila at Book Journeys. Jen Vincent over at Teach Mentor Texts and Kellee Moye from Unleashing Readers decided to put a children’s and YA spin on it and they invite anyone with an interest to join in. You can participate by creating your post then visit one of their sites to add your site. Finally, visit at least three participant blogs and leave a comment.

This week I have read:

So B. It by Sarah Weeks (2004). This book touched me immensely as I got to know Heidi, a young girl with a mentally disabled mother who doesn’t know where she came from, who her mother is, or even her real name or birthday. As she uncovers clues about her mother’s past from a word her mother keeps repeating and some old photographs, Heidi sets out on a journey to discover who she really is. This is a story about family, both the one you’re born with and the one you find for yourself, and  a journey of loss, love, and self-discovery.

 

 

Kenneth Oppel’s The Nest (2015) was a book I was too terrified to put down. After hearing all of the rave reviews, I decided I had to pick it up. This book tells the story of Steve, an older brother who wants nothing more than to save his baby brother who is fighting to survive after being born severely ill. As Steve copes with his brother’s medical needs and the potential for losing him, in addition to the emotional toll this has taken on his family, he is haunted by dreams in which an answer is promised to him, one in which horror far outweighs hope. This book was definitely well-written, but incredibly disturbing at the same time.

 

The highlight of my week was finally getting my hands on a copy of The Thing About Jellyfish by Ali Benjamin (2015). This book has topped many of the lists I’ve seen recently, and for good reason. Another story of loss, hope and forgiveness, the story of Suzy’s struggle to understand the death of her best friend, Franny, was touching and unforgettable. From the organization of the story to the characters to the way you find yourself caring just as much about jellyfish as Suzy does, this is a book that touches your very soul. It was worth the wait.

 

 

5 thoughts on “It’s Monday! What Are You Reading? Week 3

  1. The Thing about Jellyfish is sitting in front of me as I type this. It has been on my want to read list for ages, but I never find time for it. I think I need to just abandon everything else I’ve got on the go and start reading! The more I read about The Nest, the more nervous I am about reading it. I don’t do horror or creepy very well…

    Like

  2. The Nest is very creepy for a middle grade work. I have some students reading it and they have trouble stopping. Once you start, you will probably fly right through as it is a short, gripping book. I think nervous and excited captures the emotions a lot of readers will have.

    Like

Leave a Reply

