It’s Monday! What Are You Reading? Week 4

A new semester started, so my reading unfortunately had to slow down a little this week. However, I still finished a couple of fantastic books:

 

Lois Lowry’s Number the Stars has been one of my favorite books since childhood, and I was so excited to find Jennifer Nielsen’s A Night Divided this past week to be a close comparison. Also a historical fiction novel, Nielsen’s book is about 12-year-old Gerta, separated from her father and brother in East Berlin overnight by the Berlin Wall in post-World War II Germany. This book had me on the edge of my seat, heart pounding, as Gerta redefines bravery with a daring plan to reunite with her family and live a life of freedom. This was definitely a book I couldn’t put down and will be anxious to hand to any student who loves Number the Stars.
Although dramatically different from A Night Divided in content, character, and setting, I loved Lisa Graff’s Absolutely Almost just as much this week. As a teacher, this book made me pause to think about all of the students I have worked with who have struggled. In this book, fifth grader Albie struggles with unidentified learning issues that are impacting not only his learning, but also his relationships with his family and his ability to make and keep friends. This book confronts the difficult topic of what it’s like to be different without support, especially in the middle grades. This book is one I will hand to both kids and to fellow teachers.
At home this week, I loved sharing Karma Wilson and Jane Chapman’s Bear Sees Colors with my 2- and 4-year olds. I absolutely love Karma Wilson’s books (and our tattered copy of The Cow Loves Cookies is a clear indication that my kids do, too). Bear Sees Colors, the latest in the Bear series, does not disappoint. Gorgeous illustrations and gentle rhymes accompany a storyline perfect for little readers. I have a feeling this one is going to be a bit tattered soon, too!

It’s Monday! What are you reading? is a meme hosted by Sheila at Book Journeys. Jen Vincent over at Teach Mentor Texts and Kellee Moye from Unleashing Readers decided to put a children’s and YA spin on it and they invite anyone with an interest to join in. You can participate by creating your post then visit one of their sites to add your site. Finally, visit at least three participant blogs and leave a comment.

3 thoughts on “It’s Monday! What Are You Reading? Week 4

  1. Well I am not a fan really Absolutely Almost, I have always seen its value in teaching us, teachers, to be more mindful about our struggling learners . I’m going to have to get around to reading A Night Divided since I loved Number the Stars.

    Like

Leave a Reply

