#IMWAYR January 2, 2017

One of my (many) resolutions to kick off 2017 is to renew my commitment to keeping track of my reading. Each Monday this year, I hope to join Jen from Teach Mentor Texts and Kellee and Ricki from Unleashing Readers to share all of the reading I’ve done during the week, from picture books to young adult novels.

Here’s What I’ve Been Reading:

Since getting lost in the pages of Jennifer Niven’s All the Bright Places right before Winter Break began, I dove into several of the YA titles highlighted on this list over the past few weeks.

Wintergirls, by Laurie Halse Anderson

Although I found this book uncomfortable, even devastating, no one can portray the heartbreaking reality of eating disorders and loss like Anderson.

The Unlikely Hero of Room 13B, by Teresa Toten

Adam/Batman’s roller coaster of balancing falling in love and battling his OCD made this book an absolute page-turner for me.

13 Reasons Why, by Jay Asher

Asher tackles a difficult topic head-on, leading the reader to understand the complexities of teen suicide through the tapes Hannah leaves behind for Clay. Equal parts mystery and tragedy, I found myself wishing for answers along with Clay throughout the story. I’m anxious to see how this one will be adapted for the screen when it shows up on Netflix later this year.

 

Wish, by Barbara O’Connor

A sweet middle grade novel about finding your place in the world and discovering what your heart truly desires. This is one I will definitely be sharing with upper elementary readers, especially those who have fallen in love already with Winn-Dixie.

Image result for wish barbara o'connor

Elephant and Piggie Like Reading!: The Cookie Fiasco, by Dan Santat

I picked this up to read to my own kids (ages 2 and 4) tonight, and although some of the math ideas went over their heads, they loved the characters and were excited to see their old friends Elephant and Piggie (and, of course, to look for The Pigeon in the back of the book).

Image result for cookie fiasco

Reading Progress Check-in

  • I finished 2016 with a grand total of 226 books read (goal: 200)!
  • 2017 Total Progress: 2/230
    • Chapter Books: 1/100
  • My reading goals this week:
    • Finish The Sun is Also a Star
    • Read Smile and Sisters (both are sitting on my nightstand and I promised some students they were next on my To Read List)
    • Create my #MustReadin2017 list
2 thoughts on “#IMWAYR January 2, 2017

Leave a Reply

